Merge branch 'variadic-enumerators'
authorTobias Brunner <tobias@strongswan.org>
Fri, 26 May 2017 11:57:57 +0000 (13:57 +0200)
committerTobias Brunner <tobias@strongswan.org>
Fri, 26 May 2017 12:24:13 +0000 (14:24 +0200)
This adds several changes to enumerator_t and linked_list_t to improve
portability.  In particular to Apple's ARM64 iOS platform, whose calling
convention for variadic and regular functions are different.  This means
that assigning a non-variadic function to a variadic function pointer,
as we did with our enumerator_t::enumerate() implementations and several
callbacks, will result in crashes as the called function will access the
arguments differently than the caller provided them.

To avoid this issue the enumerator_t interface is now fully variadic.
A new mandatory method is added, venumerate(), that takes a va_list with
the arguments provided while enumerating.  enumerate() is replaced with
a generic implementation that prepares a va_list and calls the
enumerator's venumerate() implementation.  As this allows passing the
arguments of one enumerator to another it avoids the five pointer hack
used by enumerator_create_nested() and enumerator_create_cleaner().
To simplify the implementation of venumerate() a helper macro is provided
that assigns values from a given va_list to local variables.

The signature of the callback passed to enumerator_create_filter() has
also changed significantly.  It's now required to enumerate over the
original enumerator in the callback as this avoids the previous in/out
pointer hack. The arguments to the outer enumerator are provided in a
va_list.

Similar changes to avoid such five pointer hacks affect the signatures
of the callbacks for linked_list_t's invoke_function() and find_first()
methods.  For the latter the return type also changed from status_t to
bool, which is important as SUCCESS is defined as 0, so checks for ==
SUCCESS will now fail.


Trivial merge