ikev2: Initialize variable in case set_key() or allocate_bytes() fails
authorTobias Brunner <tobias@strongswan.org>
Mon, 19 Mar 2018 16:03:05 +0000 (17:03 +0100)
committerTobias Brunner <tobias@strongswan.org>
Thu, 24 May 2018 13:45:08 +0000 (15:45 +0200)
In case the PRF's set_key() or allocate_bytes() method failed, skeyseed
was not initialized and the chunk_clear() call later caused a crash.

This could have happened with OpenSSL in FIPS mode when MD5 was
negotiated (and test vectors were not checked, in which case the PRF
couldn't be instantiated as the test vectors would have failed).
MD5 is not included in the default proposal anymore since 5.6.1, so
with recent versions this could only happen with configs that are not
valid in FIPS mode anyway.

Fixes: CVE-2018-10811

src/libcharon/sa/ikev2/keymat_v2.c

index 49b1f77..f8b23b6 100644 (file)
@@ -303,8 +303,8 @@ METHOD(keymat_v2_t, derive_ike_keys, bool,
        chunk_t nonce_i, chunk_t nonce_r, ike_sa_id_t *id,
        pseudo_random_function_t rekey_function, chunk_t rekey_skd)
 {
-       chunk_t skeyseed, key, secret, full_nonce, fixed_nonce, prf_plus_seed;
-       chunk_t spi_i, spi_r;
+       chunk_t skeyseed = chunk_empty, key, secret, full_nonce, fixed_nonce;
+       chunk_t prf_plus_seed, spi_i, spi_r;
        prf_plus_t *prf_plus = NULL;
        uint16_t alg, key_size, int_alg;
        prf_t *rekey_prf = NULL;