debian: build debug symbol package
authorAnsis Atteka <aatteka@nicira.com>
Fri, 25 Oct 2013 22:42:10 +0000 (15:42 -0700)
committerMartin Willi <martin@revosec.ch>
Wed, 30 Oct 2013 08:29:28 +0000 (09:29 +0100)
Before this patch all debug symbols were stripped off and simply
discarded.  GDB without debug symbols is barely usable, but at
the same time distributing binaries with debug symbols would
drastically increase strongswan/libstrongswan package size.

Instead of discarding debug symbols, it would be better to strip
them off into a dedicated debian package.  So that, if needed, one
could still install them and use GDB.

Signed-off-by: Ansis Atteka <aatteka@nicira.com>
packages/strongswan/debian/control
packages/strongswan/debian/rules

index 7457b11..831381d 100644 (file)
@@ -47,3 +47,15 @@ Depends: ${misc:Depends}, libstrongswan (=${binary:Version})
 Section: devel
 Description: strongSwan development headers
  C header files to develop with libstrongswan.
+
+Package: strongswan-dbg
+Architecture: any
+Section: debug
+Priority: extra
+Depends: ${misc:Depends}, strongswan, libstrongswan
+Description: strongSwan library and binaries - debugging symbols
+ StrongSwan is an IPsec-based VPN solution for the Linux kernel. It uses the
+ native IPsec stack and runs on any recent 2.6 kernel (no patching required).
+ It supports both IKEv1 and the newer IKEv2 protocols.
+ .
+ This package provides the symbols needed for debugging of strongswan.
index be1cc63..3f49080 100755 (executable)
@@ -56,7 +56,7 @@ binary-arch: build install
        dh_installinit --name=ipsec
        dh_install -s
        dh_link
-       dh_strip
+       dh_strip --dbg=strongswan-dbg
        dh_compress
        dh_fixperms -Xetc/ipsec.secrets -Xetc/ipsec.d
        dh_makeshlibs