NEWS: Add news for 5.8.3
authorTobias Brunner <tobias@strongswan.org>
Thu, 12 Mar 2020 18:32:43 +0000 (19:32 +0100)
committerTobias Brunner <tobias@strongswan.org>
Fri, 13 Mar 2020 14:15:25 +0000 (15:15 +0100)
NEWS

diff --git a/NEWS b/NEWS
index 2dc1e54..5e4c117 100644 (file)
--- a/NEWS
+++ b/NEWS
@@ -1,3 +1,30 @@
+strongswan-5.8.3
+----------------
+
+- Updates for the NM backend (and plugin), among others: EAP-TLS authentication,
+  configurable local and remote IKE identities, custom server port, redirection
+  and reauthentication support.
+
+- Previously used reqids are now reallocated to workaround an issue on FreeBSD
+  where the daemon can't use reqids > 16383.
+
+- On Linux, throw type routes are installed for passthrough policies. They act
+  as fallbacks on routes in other tables and require less information, so they
+  can be installed earlier and are not affected by updates.
+
+- For IKEv1, the lifetimes of the selected transform are returned to the
+  initiator, which is an issue with peers that propose different lifetimes in
+  different transforms.  We also return the correct transform and proposal IDs.
+
+- IKE_SAs are not re-established anymore if a deletion has been queued.
+
+- Added support for Ed448 keys and certificates via openssl plugin and pki tool.
+  The openssl plugin also supports SHA-3 and SHAKE128/256.
+
+- The use of algorithm IDs from the private use ranges can now be enabled
+  globally, to use them even if no strongSwan vendor ID was exchanged.
+
+
 strongswan-5.8.2
 ----------------