gmp: Fix buffer overflow with very small RSA keys
authorTobias Brunner <tobias@strongswan.org>
Tue, 25 Sep 2018 12:50:08 +0000 (14:50 +0200)
committerTobias Brunner <tobias@strongswan.org>
Wed, 26 Sep 2018 08:10:48 +0000 (10:10 +0200)
Because `keylen` is unsigned the subtraction results in an integer
underflow if the key length is < 11 bytes.

This is only a problem when verifying signatures with a public key (for
private keys the plugin enforces a minimum modulus length) and to do so
we usually only use trusted keys.  However, the x509 plugin actually
calls issued_by() on a parsed certificate to check if it is self-signed,
which is the reason this issue was found by OSS-Fuzz in the first place.
So, unfortunately, this can be triggered by sending an invalid client
cert to a peer.

Fixes: 5955db5b124a ("gmp: Don't parse PKCS1 v1.5 RSA signatures to verify them")
Fixes: CVE-2018-17540

src/libstrongswan/plugins/gmp/gmp_rsa_private_key.c

index e9a83fd..a255a40 100644 (file)
@@ -301,7 +301,7 @@ bool gmp_emsa_pkcs1_signature_data(hash_algorithm_t hash_algorithm,
                data = digestInfo;
        }
 
-       if (data.len > keylen - 11)
+       if (keylen < 11 || data.len > keylen - 11)
        {
                chunk_free(&digestInfo);
                DBG1(DBG_LIB, "signature value of %zu bytes is too long for key of "