Merge branch 'tls13'
authorTobias Brunner <tobias@strongswan.org>
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 14:14:37 +0000 (15:14 +0100)
committerTobias Brunner <tobias@strongswan.org>
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 14:32:03 +0000 (15:32 +0100)
commitc7a0f2698d4dadd31b9d9d666cf807275b4d5d08
treebb8c8b74fecabb40fb290757d8a520e20153ca80
parent0d43b39931e75d963b77f737957d64ca05e763f2
parent74b9ba7cdb3500fe788b92c2e58409e87e3345ae
Merge branch 'tls13'

This adds support for TLS 1.3 to libtls and adds several new features to
existing TLS versions (e.g. support for x25519/x448, EdDSA or RSA-PSS).

Unfortunately, TLS 1.3 is not really usable for TLS-based EAP methods in
practice because, in particular, key derivation is not yet standardized.
While it works between two strongSwan instances and even FreeRADIUS 3.0.21,
there will be compatibility issues in the future when implementations move
to a standardized scheme.  There are currently two Internet-Drafts in
development to specify that (see 121ac4b9e37e for details).  Until they are
more stable, the default maximum version is set to 1.2.

The default minimum version has also been increased to 1.2 and several
older/weaker cipher suites have been removed (e.g. with 3DES and MD5).