thread: Remove unneeded thread startup synchronization
authorMartin Willi <martin@revosec.ch>
Fri, 27 Mar 2015 19:16:58 +0000 (20:16 +0100)
committerMartin Willi <martin@revosec.ch>
Mon, 13 Apr 2015 12:50:45 +0000 (14:50 +0200)
commit7394ad92aeeb12316fa3710d3ac2138d7cee7c6c
treedc676f359a761a9c82678e4ab4160ae64478f814
parent101d67440f0b127032b3bc1ba521fa4ed91c823f
thread: Remove unneeded thread startup synchronization

sem_init() is deprecated on OS X, and it actually fails with ENOSYS. Using our
wrapped semaphore object is not an option, as it relies on the thread cleanup
that we can't rely on at this stage.

It is unclear why startup synchronization is required, as we can allocate the
thread ID just before creating the pthread. There is a chance that we allocate
a thread ID for a thread that fails to create, but the risk and consequences
are negligible.
src/libstrongswan/threading/thread.c