proposal: Remove RFC 5114 MODP DH groups from default proposal
authorMartin Willi <martin@strongswan.org>
Thu, 20 Oct 2016 05:12:32 +0000 (07:12 +0200)
committerTobias Brunner <tobias@strongswan.org>
Tue, 15 Nov 2016 16:20:40 +0000 (17:20 +0100)
commit649537ee8dc75952c37df227a24e05d95dbc7594
treeb50302d5e5d06dbb662fa4fbcf93ba8e8c230d66
parent011195f1a9d90a7d67fd545f696779995337e93e
proposal: Remove RFC 5114 MODP DH groups from default proposal

Recent research demonstrates that at least for 1024-bit DH groups, it is
possible to create specially crafted primes having a backdoor. From the
prime itself this is not detectable, creating a perfect NOBUS attack.

http://eprint.iacr.org/2016/961

For the primes defined in RFC 5114 no information is provided on how these
have been selected. In the default proposal we included one of the 2048-bit
primes only, where it is questionable if constructing a backdoored prime is
feasible. Nevertheless, this patch removes the group from the set of default
proposals as well.
src/libcharon/config/proposal.c