ike-sa: Optionally try to migrate to the best path on routing priority changes
authorMartin Willi <martin@strongswan.org>
Mon, 10 Oct 2016 13:59:52 +0000 (15:59 +0200)
committerMartin Willi <martin@strongswan.org>
Fri, 17 Feb 2017 10:19:38 +0000 (11:19 +0100)
commit597e8c9e009946c994fcba525bacc647f46bae60
treeb7635493277c2057218df5165bc77f11e8a94b0e
parentbe27e76869fe58d17ade1cf6d5a84926ce994ef1
ike-sa: Optionally try to migrate to the best path on routing priority changes

When multihomed, a setup might prefer to dynamically stay on the cheapest
available path by using MOBIKE migrations. If the cheapest path goes away and
comes back, we currently stay on the more expensive path to reduce noise and
prevent potential migration issues. This is usually just fine for links not
generating real cost.

If we have more expensive links in the setup, it can be desirable to always
migrate to the cheapest link available. By setting charon.prefer_best_path,
charon tries to migrate to the path using the highest priority link, allowing
an external application to update routes to indirectly control MOBIKE behavior.
This option has no effect if MOBIKE is unavailable.
conf/options/charon.opt
src/libcharon/sa/ike_sa.c